Category Archives: research guides

Start That Paper Now! Procrastination Kills!

Just 5 days to Spring Break 2012! By now, you’ve probably got a major project or research paper that you are stressing about but haven’t started. Stressing doesn’t have to be the first step in getting started. It shouldn’t be … Continue reading

Posted in advice, assignment calculator, help, research, research guides, students, success, tips | Leave a comment

We’ve got new books! Browse the new books webpage.

Ever wonder what new books the library has to offer but can’t stop by to browse the shelves? No worries. Browse our new books webpage at http://libguides.roanestate.edu/newbooks. The new books list is organized into subject categories as well as location. … Continue reading

Posted in book collection, books, new books, new_stuff, Oak Ridge campus library, research guides, roane campus library | Leave a comment

Logophiles rejoice! New and improved Oxford English Dictionary available online

Word lovers agree — the Oxford English Dictionary is super sweet. The only thing better than browsing the 20+ volumes on the shelf is browsing online. If you’ve never explored Roane State Library’s Oxford English Dictionary online, now’s a great … Continue reading

Posted in databases, fun with words, oed, research guides, website | Leave a comment

Jazz: America’s Classical Music

Jazz is often referred to as America’s classical music. Jazz has played an important role in the development of a uniquely “American” culture. Learn more about jazz and its influence on American history at http://libguides.roanestate.edu/jazz. Do you love jazz? You … Continue reading

Posted in research guides, special event | Leave a comment

Keep up with events in Egypt

Sometimes history crawls. Sometimes it leaps. Many of us have friends, acquaintances and former students living, working, and perhaps, protesting in Egypt. Your library can help you keep up with events as they unfold. Visit our newest research guide: “Egypt … Continue reading

Posted in egypt, research guides | Leave a comment

Dead links in your course material: Time and Forbes no longer available

It has come to our attention that Gale Databases no longer provide full text access to Time magazine and Forbes magazine. This means that all of your Time and Forbes article links are dead. • Please check your article links … Continue reading

Posted in databases, recommended_articles, research guides | Leave a comment

Celebrate Martin Luther King’s legacy

Martin Luther King’s importance as a leader of people is hard to overestimate. As a civil rights leader and champion of freedom for all people, Dr. King was passionate about the importance of education. We can honor Dr. King’s legacy … Continue reading

Posted in holiday, recommended_articles, research guides | Leave a comment