Category Archives: databases

Learning Express Library

Are you looking for free test prep questions? Do you know about LearningExpress Library? It’s a great service database that allows you to take online practice exams. The Learning Express Library provides over 700 online interactive practice exams and course series, … Continue reading

Posted in databases, GED, learning, NCLEX, PRAXIS, tests | Leave a comment

Language Learning with Power Speak

Now available Gale’s Power Speak Languages. This online language learning program includes audio, video, and interactive activities. The courses are designed to meet the National Standards outlined by the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages and cover the … Continue reading

Posted in databases, language, new_stuff | Leave a comment

Changes to Roane State Library Databases

Nov 30th will be the last day the Roane State Library will have access to Ebsco’s Points of View Reference Center database. The library does have other great databases that cover controversial topics and social issues.  Check out….. Opposing Viewpoints … Continue reading

Posted in CQ Researcher, databases, opposing viewpoints, points of view | Leave a comment

CQ Researcher is back!

Access to CQ Researcher has been restored. We lost access on November 4 due to an administrative error with our renewal. We are very sorry for the temporary lapse. Let us know if you  experience any problems with this or any … Continue reading

Posted in CQ Researcher, databases, service_interruption | Leave a comment

Business Database Changes

The RSCC library database General Business File International is no longer being updated by Gale. It has been replaced with the General Business File ASAP. This database is regularly updated with the latest journal additions. We have adjusted the library’s … Continue reading

Posted in business, databases | Leave a comment

WilsonWeb databases are moving to EBSCOhost

On Wednesday, February 1, 2012, Roane State’s WilsonWeb databases will be owned and operated by EBSCO rather than H.W. Wilson. EBSCO purchased H.W.Wilson, which no longer exists as its own company. This change affects the following Roane State library databases: … Continue reading

Posted in databases, Ebsco, WilsonWeb. h.w. wilson | Leave a comment

Ahoy Matey!

The Library Language Database Mango is having some fun this month by offering Pirate as a language.If it’s pirate chatter ye be after, you’ve come to the right place. Mango’s Pirate Language Course will teach you everything you need to … Continue reading

Posted in databases, fun | Leave a comment